List of Prime Ministers of India

The Prime Minister of India is the head of the government. Article 75 of the Indian Constitution envisages that there will be a Prime Minister who shall be appointed by the President of India after the political party wins a general election and nominates a candidate for the post. The leader of that political party is thereafter appointed as the Prime Minister of India. In this article, we will give you the list of Prime Ministers of India and important facts about prime Ministers.

Composing a thriving publication may be a satisfying manner. For the time being, however, novices are going to discover the essential essay arrangement. Before getting started, there are a number of things you have to understand about composing an essay with Indian defence education. Composing an essay isn’t a tough task once you understand the structure well. Therefore, following a suitable structure although composing an outline of your own re Search paper is easily the most crucial step. Get expert essay writing help at a moderate cost. It’s my wish that this can assist you with your article.

List Of Prime Ministers Of India :-

S.NoPrime MinisterPeriod
1Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru15th Aug 1947- 27th May 1964
2Gulzarilal Nanda (interim)27th May 1964- 9th Jun 1964
3Lal Bahadur Shastri9th June 1964 -11th January 1966
4Gulzarilal Nanda11th January 1966- 24th January 1966
5Indira Gandhi24th January 1966- 24th March 1977
6Morarji Desai24th March 1977- 28th July 1979
7Charan Singh28th July 1979- 14th January 1980
8Indira Gandhi14th January 1980- 31st October 1984
9Rajiv Gandhi31st October 1984- 2nd December 1989
10Vishwa Pratap Singh2nd December 1989- 10th November 1990
11Chandra Shekhar10th November 1990-21st June 1991
12P. V Narasimha Rao21st June 1991- 16th May 1996
13Atal Bihari Vajpayee16th May 1996-1st June 1996
14H. D Deve Gowda1st June 1996- 21st April 1997
15Inder Kumar Gujral21st April 1997- 18th March 1998
16Atal Bihari Vajpayee18th March 1998- 22nd May 2004
17Dr Manmohan Singh22nd May 2004 -17th May 2014
18Narendra Modi26th May 2014 -23rd May 2019
18Narendra Modi30th May 2019 -Incumbent

Frequently Asked Question :-

Q.1 Which Article deals with the Appointment of the Prime Minister?

Ans. Article 75 of the Indian constitution deals with the appointment of Prime Ministers and other ministers of India.

Q.2 Who is the longest-serving prime minister of India?

Ans. Jawaharlal Nehru remains India’s longest-serving prime minister. He served as the Indian Prime Minister until his death in May 1964.

Q.3 Who was the first Prime Minister of India?

Ans. Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru served as the First Prime Minister of India

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button